Hi All! Newbie here, just out of surgery one week

Posted , 10 users are following.

I have been watching (and sometimes responding) to all the posts that are so very informative and helpful!  I am one week today out of surgery on TRH.  Am 67 and am probably looking at the LH soon. (although not really all that fired up on THAT idea at this pointsmile , but whatever)    So many questions I have!  First of all, nutrition, am wondering if anyone is taking supplements ( I am and have been on quite a few for a long time).  I had surgery last Tues. and was dischared on Wed., so I was in only about 24 hours, believe it or not!  I had an anterior lateral, and all and all seems to be going ok, but have had a few setbacks with medication etc.  They have me on Norco but I find I really cannot take it, as it makes me nauseated and besides that, I don't feel I need anything that heavy at this point (THANK GOD!)  So.......I called the Doc yesterday and they said I could take Tylenol or one 200 mg. ibuprofen every 6 hours (the reason only one is that they have me taking one 325 mg. aspirin morning and night to help thin the blood a little and help with blood clots, and ibuprofen also is a blood thinner.  So far, not too many problems with sleeping although Doc said he would prescribe ambien if I had problems later. Am trying to do my excersises they gave me upon discharge and make it most of the time, am walking around on my walker with no problems.  Getting INTO bed is sometimes a problem (we have a high bed) and husband has to help me, but I can get out ok.  Any pointers would be appreciated......this appears to be a VERY supportive site with lots of great people helping!  Thanks in advance!

Terri

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Hi I am 6 coming up 6weeks postt op.... keep taking pain meds because if you stop like I did you take a massive step backwards.