How do I identify if I am really depressed or just chronically lazy and sad?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Long post, bear with me.

I am a graduate student and recently started my degree in a new country.

My problem is that I am not able to concentrate on studies.

1. No interest to study despite knowing that it's the only thing I have to do.

2. Feeling sad for apparently no reason and indifferent, dormant feeling most of the times. Complete emotional numbness to literally everything.

Like when I got a part-time job and it's a happy thing for me, but I was like meh and when I was leaving my home country I didn't feel much sad as I thought I would be.

3. Little alteration in sleeping and eating habits and gained some weight.

4. Sometimes (Rarely) sudden jump in mood from sad to happy just for very simple things which I am aware are not that big a deal.

5. Completely insecure that I won't be able to cope up and live up to the expectations which I set up myself and it's making me more anxious.(They are in no way bigger than what I am normally capable of achieving in this type of situations)

6. The most terrifying of all is that when I realized my problems and googled the symptoms, weirdly I felt a little complacent feeling that I got a reason to justify my inability to concentrate on studies by blaming it on a medical issue rather that getting the urge to deal with it.(I know that this is how laziness takes over a persons lifestyle.)This is the reason why I believed that it's just laziness that's effecting me and I can get over it.(at least I thought so)

7. No suicidal thoughts but had really frustrating episodes when I was unable to perform.