How I tapered off

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all, I posted here a week or so ago about starting to taper off alcohol and I thought I'd come back and share my experience in the hope some people may find it useful .

First off, let me say that the only advice I am qualified to give is this: see a doctor first. If you want to quit, whether its cold turkery, tapering, medical detox, whatever, I would highly advise you go see a doctor first. As you all know, alcohol withdrawal can be fatal in extreme cases. 

How much was I drinking before the taper? 

I want to tell you this because I was probably drinking comparitively less than a lot of you, and more than some... I am well aware that people are in much deeper than I was/am, but everyones different and everything is relative.  

I had been drinking every night for nearly 4 years. Usually it was 4 or 5 pints of strong lager, but other times it was considerably more - especially at weekends (where I'd drink the best part of 8-12 pints). 

In the few months before I started the taper, I had brought it down to 4-5 pints per night consistently. Not a huge amount at all, but I still felt like I needed it. 

Here is how I tapered off: 

I used the old 44, 33, 22, 11, .5.5 model. There are many other ways to do it, it depends on how much you're drinking and how willing you are to accept some withdrawal symptoms (disclaimer: again, not a doctor). 

The first few days were tough. I had quite bad shakes, irritability and terrible sleep. I felt horrible during the day, and that was just from reducing down by one pint. I should say that I can be a hypochondriac and my mental state probably exacerbated these symptoms.