How is everyone going? What are your thoughts about your osteoporosis?

Posted , 8 users are following.

I had my second bone density test which did not show any noticeable change overall.

I still am choosing not to take fosamax or have the Prolia injections.

I am in Australia so our choices are limited.

I am, however, attempting to improve my bones naturally which I understand is a long shot.

More studies would be good that highlight the risks of doing nothing or trying various means of improving our bones whether by diet and exercise or some other means.

It is very complicated for many reasons, one being that most of us have other health issues.

Some have tried the drugs and have been either pleased or displeased with that choice.

We do not have to agree but continued updates or debates would be good.

So, how are you going?

1 like, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I'm new to Osteoporosis but, from what I have read, there seems to be only one way to improve OP and that is 'excercise'.  All very well, if you can!

As you say, most of us have other issues which prevent a lot of movement.  The younger ones also try dieting, but there have to be some pleasures in life!!😊

Regards fr Constance

• Posted

Hi Constance!

Yes, I cannot do much exercise either.

I go to the pool and do step ups on the steps, pushing the noodle down with one leg at a time, resistance with the Dumbbells, walking across pool, etc.

I have added some vitamin and mineral supplements as well. I don't interfere with my diet except to have plenty of vegetables, fruit, dairy, protein, and food so like avocados, prunes, etc.

What is your  Tscore? Mine is around-3 to -4.

What country are you in?

• Posted

Lucky you, easy access to a pool (my dream)!   

My T-score is - 3.5.

I'm in Germany.  I'm British but have lived and worked in Germany for 45 years.

• Posted

Hi Kathleen.