How long before 20 mg pred kicks in?

Posted , 8 users are following.

Due to intense non-stop pain in one shoulder (diagnosed w/PMR Nov. 2014), I've increased my pred dose from 7 mg to 20 to see if it's the PMR.  I'm still in pain after 5 days.  How long do you think I should wait before I consider other causes for this pain? Thank you!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Martha

I think that high of a dose would kick in rather quickly. Perhaps your problem is not related to PMR but to an arthritic problem or a pinched nerve.

I certainly wouldnt stay on 20 mg if I were you

• Posted

Hi Martha,

I was started on 20 mil one year ago and I was pain free within 24 hours. I wasnt able to walk, groin, shoulders, legs all very painful but the pred was a miracle for me. 5 days seems a bit long but Im no pro here, maybe the dose isnt high enough for you as we are all different but again I cannot be sure. Good luck,

Sharon

• Posted

If you have pain in just one shoulder it really is less likely to be PMR than perhaps a rotator cuff problem or bursitis though there are probably other things it could be.

If you haven't got relief after 5 days at 20mg then I'd definitely say that was long enough a test to see if it is due to the PMR. But really - if you want to try that sort of increase to try something out it is better to discuss it with your doctor first. I wouldn't do it without good reason - like being on holiday and no access to the doctor.

• Posted

I think I would go back to your previous dose as it seems highly unlikely it is PMR. Shoulder damage of some sort is more likely.
  • Posted