How soon after hydrocelectomy for exercise?

Posted , 2 users are following.

I am scheduled for a hydrocelectomy the day after tomorrow. I'm wondering how soon after the surgery I can be physically active without serious discomfort. Specifically, I am a drummer and have been asked to perform at a show just 2 weeks after the surgery.

If I accept this job, I will be required to load my equipment into my truck, then from the truck to the stage, set it up, play for up to 4 hours (with short breaks every hour) while sitting on a drum stool and leaning forward. Then load it back into the truck, then back into my house.

Right now, my hydrocele is about the size of a softball. Last weekend I played a 4 hour show and was fairly uncomfortable with the pressure, but it wasn't unbearable. I understand that there will be swelling after the surgery.

Those of you who have had this surgery, what do you think? Should I commit to this show?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Its going to be cutting it close I have had 2 hydrocelectomy's in 5 months and the first week of both was hell. They say no heavy lifting for a month but I am returning to the gym today which is 3 weeks after surgery there is still some swelling and a bit of pain from where they attach the testicle to the scrotum.
  • Posted

After 2 weeks, i was getting more comfortable, but saw my doctor before going back to work & he told me, i should only go back if i didn't lift anything & not to do a full day, The swelling was still pretty big, but discomfort rather than pain. I would suggest its prob a bit soon, but we are all different!, you will only really know after 10 days how you are doing. I'm 6 weeks on no real pain, but swelling is still like small orange!

• Posted