Hpyerthyroidism

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am new to all of this so any information is greatly appreciated. I was referred to an Endo by my doctor and was diagnosed with Graves disease. He got some blood test done on my first visit and game me some Atenolol for a fast heart rate. That was a scary moment for me I have been active most of my life serving over 21 years in the military and now he wants me doing nothing and checking my heart rate at  all  times. Well my Doctor got blood test results back and informed me that I have Graves decease. He put me on Methimazole taking 4 pills a day. I asked him if I should keep taking the Atenolol and he told me only if my heart rate goes above 90 BPM. I have been taking the Methimazole for 4 days and my heart rate still goes above 90 BPM every day. Has anyone ever experienced this? Are antithyroid meds the best option at first? Please Help so I can stop worrying, thanks.

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted