Hs sufferer of 20yrs and no help

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi I'm new to this. I'm a 37yr old male who has stage 3 hs and have not been able to get any help or relief in the Uk. Any tips or help for pain management would be so very grateful

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi Paul, I suffered for 20 years... I promise for me it is food sensitivities. Especially potato and paprika (so even when you follow a good diet you could still be consuming these nightshades).

So I eliminated nightshades, reduced dairy, and tried to reduce high GI sugary foods...  it has been 95% resolved through this.

I think probiotics help as well given it's most likely a gut issue.

If you do anything, try no nightshades (watch for paprika) for at least 3 months... seriously it can change your life!  Please don't write this off as some advice from a health fanatic or hippy, I am far from it.  And tried to research why it works and why it is so little understood.

• Posted

Thankyou for your reply. I have tried every antibiotics for this according to my doctor and had surgery many yrs ago. I have managed my diet as much as possible with no joy
    • Posted

My condition is stress triggered and as you know its a vicious cycle not to be stressed with this condition
    • Posted

When you say you managed your diet, I would have said I was doing that also and was eating nothing by vegetables for 6 months even... however, have you ruled out Nightshades, specifically potato.  One serving of hot chips or wedges or a curry with paprika will give me a boil the size of a golf ball for 2-3 weeks.. and by then I had another serving.

Some people blame nuts and there's science that blames dairy (IGF-1)...

Agree stress makes it worse.

One of the best things to do is start keeping a diary of what you eat.  The affect seems to take about 12 hrs as the food hits the gut

• Posted