I am recently detected with hypothyroidism

Posted , 5 users are following.

With TSH 8.97 is it very high what should I do?

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Hello Mrinali:

I am a Nurse and live in the USA.  When you have thyroid disease your TSH (thyroid stimulating hormone) acts up.  TSH is an indicator in your blood work that a problem is happening.  You can see your GP or a doctor called an Endocrinologist "Endo" for short.  They can prescribe a thyroid replacement medicine and it will help as you build a level.  After a proper level is obtained your TSH will be normal again.

There are several blood tests that need to be taken such as T3 & T4 levels and a mineral panel, (calcium, iron, magnesium, potassium, and sodium). Also it is a good idea to have a Vit D level done  Blood work helps to diagnose you better, so please ask your doctor to order the above blood work.

I hope this helps.  Be well, Shelly

• Posted

Hello Barbara:

I am sorry I forgot a test.  Thanks for letting me know.  I am doing it from my brain to the keyboard....LOL.  XO, Shelly

• Posted

Hello Shelley, sorry my reply was brief - I had wriiten a longer reply then my phone jumped so I accidentally clicked on the advert. When I went back it had lost the message grrr!
    • Posted

Hello Barbara:

I wish I could "touch type"  but I never was good at it.  I must look at the keys.  I am missing the typing gene...LOL.  I once tried to teach myself how to do it and the CD had a game to practice.  the lizard would come out and for every letter that was correct, he would eat it...well he did not get too many from me and walked off.  LOL.  Shelly

• Posted

Hello Mrinali:

Another important test to ask for is Ferritin level, as Barbara mentioned on here.  All the blood work we mention here is important to see how your thyroid is right  now and how it improves once you start thyroid meds.  Please call your doctor and keep in touch on here so we know how you are doing.  XO Shelly

• Posted