I have been using Tibolone (Livial) for three years now....

Posted , 41 users are following.

I have been using Tibolone (Livial) for three years now. I previously used HRT patches but due to the length of time I had been using my GP suggested that Tibolone would be better for me.

I have had previous hysterectomy and bowel resection due to Endeometriosis.

I am now 49 years of age and HRT started at approx 29 years old. I had one son at the age of 27 and had a miscarriage at age 29 when I was 5 months pregnant.

I have some concerns regarding Livial as I am currently experiencing -

Joint Pain

Severe Muscle Pain

Some Visual blurring

Fluid retention

Very low metabolism (despite trying very hard to motivate and move around as much as possible)

Require rest and sleep often

Unexplained weight gain or fluid retention ?

I have been attending my GP for the last 4 months back and forth with muscle and joint problems and also some swelling in the neck area.

Some blood tests have been done but at the moment nothing has been found. Apparently Thyroid results are normal.

A swelling ocurred on the lower right side of my neck around early February. I have not to date received a scan to diagnose the problem despite repeated visits to the practice and also visiting a private consultant in Murrayfield Edinburgh who wrote to the GP practive a number of weeks ago and who recomended that this should be done.

I was suspicious at first that I had a thyroid problem but the blood results do not show.

My concern therefore now is that Livial is causing my symptoms and I need to establish whether this is the cause or not and whether to continue with livial or not under the circumstances.

Visiting the web site has been of benefit to me in order that I can read current research on Livial as I am extremely concerned that I have gone from a fit well active person to the current pain and progressive problems I am now experiencing.

Regards.

Brenda Barclay