I just had my first surgery

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi guys, I've just been recently diagnosed with HS this past week. I've been having issues since I was 17, I'm now 24. The first spot was under my arm, it tunneled to my arpmit then comfortable made it's way to my breast. I would have flare up's every August but this year after it was drained after my flare up, it never went away. It would start going away & then open back up. I just had surgery on the 27th of December and the healing process is stealing my spirits. My doctor told me that it is more than likely going to come back and that I'll need to do a skin graft, that sounds terrifying to me. I'm just starting to learn the do's and don'ts of this disease. 

Is there any tips I should know?

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

Sorry to here that it sounds like your going threw it .this may help just thought I'd share .my daughter has hs and she had alergie testing also vitamin and minerals test .this showed that she was dairy intolerant also needed magnesium. She also found out that she has candida since treating this and eating a palo diet she is almost free and feels so much better. I hope this helps and wish you well !

• Posted

Hiya! I feel ya, diagnosed at 19 and now I'm 22 (but had it since I was 16).

I just had bilateral underarm surgery- both at once. No skin graft for me (your dr generally can't call those things, surgeon decides on skin graft or open wound packing). Took 4 months to completely heal, but my god it was worth it! (I had open wound packing).

I'm trying to avoid a groin surgery now. No thanks!

But I've found that turmeric helps, so many people who suffer this swear by it. I'd grab a turmeric supplement and a zinc supplement. Both aid so much in flare ups. I just started a few days ago and have noticed a difference.