I've quit valium and Zops overnight/Nurse friend worried

Posted , 6 users are following.

I've been overusing zopiclone and valium for about 20 years, zops initially prescribed as non addictive sleeping pill by a GP. I had severe eczema. I was so relieved as I had a young child and it was the only reprieve. I started buying them to bulk up my prescription. Endwhed up telling pysch as I couldn't get them and also was worried. He put me on a reducing dose of 5 x 7.5 mgs, down to 2 x 7.5 mgs. I didn't want to reduce any further. Told a new GP that was  sacked a year later for being "unwell" that I was having panic attacks. He stuck me on valium 3 x 5 mg daily. I was buying both drugs so that I could build up a stash..sometimes I overused badly. I've always had dogs. I have existing dog and was asked to take a rescue puppy 6 weeks ago. I found her chewing a strip of paracetamol three days ago. Was really alarmed. All meds now in a box on top of the wardrobe, except my inhalers. I didn't quit deliberately, I forgot. I should have been hanging off the ceiling. My friend is worried at the "cold turkey" valium thing, but it wasn't cold turkey. I'm very tired, due to the stifling heat in London, and my having photo sensitivity, eczema, asthma, hayfever. It's been a nightmare. New pup couldn't have arrived at a worst time. I've been trying to organize my flat, to prevent pup from eating anything else. She's teething badly and she came from a bad place, so is very hard work. I have slept ?????????? I feel no ill effects apart from being very tired. Also haven't been eating very much. My friend is worried about stopping valium. Any advice. I have my own spirituality, not religion, and am convinced that I am being helped...I'm not completely nuts, just a bit quirky. rolleyes

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted