IBS or Something Else?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello everyone,

I recently posted another thread on this in a different section of the forums under abdominal pain, but I wanted to post my story here to hopefully get some different feedback from people.

I'm a 23 year old male and have been experiencing lower left abdominal pain for the past 6 months. It's a little coincidental seeing as how the pain started developing right after I graduated college. I have been having really bad anxiety for years, but it's been at it's worst recently since I am unemployed and looking for a job. The pain I am experiecing seems to be the most noticeable in the morning. I wake up and press down just to the right of my left hip bone and the best way to describe what I feel is a hard bone like muscle or something that is distended inside my abdomen. When I do press on this area, I feel immediate pain. I do not get this same type of feeling on the right side of my abdomen, nor do I feel a distended type of muscle on that side. The best way I can describe the pain is a more of a dull-achey feeling rather than sharp stabbing pain, but it's definitely noticeable. Even if I don't press in the area, I can still feel that something isn't right. It does however feel temporarily better with a bowel movement, but gradually gets worse as the day goes on. Lastly, I do notice when I press on the affected I hear like a sound liquid moving around in there, or it may be trapped gas?

I've had a colonoscopy, upper GI done recently and those came back clear. I have also had a a CT scan several months ago, also came back clear. The doctors said they saw no signs of Ulcerative Colitis, Crohn's or Diverticulitis and are diagnosing this as IBS.