Is it just me?

Posted , 9 users are following.

I've just been to the GP (this started 5th November, so I'm just over 3 weeks in) and told her how I still have blurred vision, adversion to bright lights, dizziness, nausea, head fog and shoulder pain and how it got worse again over the weekend.

She pretty much shouted me out of the room, said labyrinthitis does not cause sensitivity to lights and vision disturbances. She has given me prochlorperzine and says I should be back at work by the end of the week.

I'm a teacher in a very challenging school, I have to be able to move fast and my brain needs to be working properly. I do not feel on the ball with this thing and do no feel able to cope with work or even to drive there at the minute. My children think it's hilarious that Mum is such an empty head the last few weeks.

Do you all find that symptoms of labyrinithitis come and go, does it  if you lie down and then when you get up, walk around, try to do some jobs around he house etc the drunk feeling, nausea and blurred vision kick in again?

I have a house that I'm renovating and each time I've started to feel a little better I've gone there and done some work only to come home totally wiped out and so dizzy I've spent the rest of the day in bed.

Is the GP right, or does she not actually understand this condition? 

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

Next
  • Posted

How old are you, please? It sounds like perimenopause. Have you checked out the perimenopause site here? Take a look your symptoms sound hormonal.
  • Posted

Perhaps get another opinion and look at vestibular problems, not just labrynthitis? The GP may not understand the condition, my doctor had never heard of it! I see a consultant in Kent now. Very good wishes to you.
    • Posted

yes pinky, I do.  I have to travel from West Sussex to see him. What about yoou?
    • Posted