Is it the medication?

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello people, I am a newbie to this site!

After years of a happy relationship with Seroxat my GP took me off it two years ago and gave me Venlafaxine instead but I don't think it is the right drug for me: I don't sleep for more than two hours at a time, laying awake for up to two hours in between. I have absolutely no motivation to do anything and no interest or joy in anything. My brain is permanently foggy, no concentration etc. instead I can just sit for hours on end thinking about nothing at all. I don't want to be like this any longer....at least I had feelings and emotions before!

Has anyone else experienced these effects?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Venlafaxine's about all that works for me these days.

Have you spoken to your Dr about how you're feeling? Certain a/ds work better for some people than others. Also why did they move you off paroxetine if it was working well for you? or is it that it had stopped working for you after 2 years?

• Posted

Hi Mike, was on Seroxat for approx 20 years then someone close to me died and a year later I went to pieces so GP changed me over. Maybe I just needed a dosage increase!
    • Posted

Sorry, forgot to say that I am trying to talk to GP but getting an appointment is like pulling hen's teeth round here!
    • Posted

I had a good 10 years or so on citalopram working my way through 20-60mg/per day but that stopped working for me in the end (and the NHS also withdrew the 60mg dose due to suspected heart risks at that dose) so I can relate. My Dr tried me on a few other a/ds and I seemed to settle on venlafaxine once I got to 225mg/day although I've had that increased in secondary care to 375mg/day now to keep it effective for me.

That's a shame your Dr didn't 1st try increasing you paroxetine dosage if it had been working and there was scope to try increasing the dose.