Is telmisartan good for high BP?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I am a 56 year old female, slightly overweight 73kg.162m, no smoking or drinking.diagnosed with high BP six months ago ranging from 140-150 over 85-95. sometimes as high as 167 over 95. I have been trying to avoid meds but the fluctuating numbers compelled my doctor to put me on meds. so from today, I will be taking Telmisartan 40mg. everyday. I am active..do Zumba and yoga four times a week and also am working.  I am already on statin and hate the thought of taking another med. My late father had high cholesterol and bp so I guess I inherited as my cholesterol remains high if I dont take statin despite my food check. Please advise if its okay for me to take this. thanks a lot...Jenna

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Whilst I'm not a doctor and wouldn't dare presume to offer qualified medical advice, please do think carefully about taking statins, particularly long term.  They are seriously bad news.  It is fact that they cause muscle damage, liver damage and it's now widely suspected by some medical professionals that they contribute to dementia.  It is also fact that those suffering with Alzheimers frequently have low cholesterol, possibly as a result of artificially reducing it too far by taking statins.  I understand that you have high BP as well as high cholesterol and I have no knowledge on the BP issue as mine is okay.  I do however know that I blindly followed my doctor's advice to take statins and they have caused me severe and probably permanent damage.  I personally will risk the high cholesterol rather than the higher risk of disability and dementia from statins.
    • Posted