Just need to talk....

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hi. I guess i just need to get it all off my chest to people who can relate/understand!! (Its rare!)

So my anxiety level has been creeping up for the past 8 months.... the last time it was extreme was 5 years ago and i have not taken meds for 4 years now.

I knew it was creeping back to its old ways but i was in denial... it will go away soon right? WRONG.

The past 4 weeks it has been so bad i have struggled in everyway possible... but it seems mostly at work sad

I work as a carer and it got to the point i was in a panic people were going to have an accident or i would accidentally hurt someone when helping them. I could smell burning and believed the place would catch fire just to give you the gist of things i have been a nervous reck.

At home i constantly check the gas cooker and plug sockets. When i walk the dog i think im being followed.

I went to the doctors a week ago today and was started on 50mg sertaline. At the moment im nit really seeing a positive change luckily i have only had a couple if side effects.

Now im panicing.... im due back to work in a week. Am i really going to be well enough? I have bills to pay and dont get sick pay apart from statutory suck pay 88quid a week :O

So sorry to rant on just needed to get it off my chest. I have support from my partner but he doesnt really understand

Thankyou x

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

Would love to hear if anyone else has experienced simular symptoms...... i feel like a freak sad

• Posted

Hi Hayle. Firstly well done going to the docs and taking the meds. You really need to give it about 2 weeks before you start to feel the benefit. Most people here say between 6 and 8 weeks for the full effect. It's hard my love, I know. While you are off work try relax and have me time. Try going a nice walk. I find that clears my mind and then I look foreward to having a little nap which always helps me.