Just started fluoxetine and confused about sexual side effects?

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi,

i just started fluoxetine (4 days in) - im 21, a dude and its my first time on anti-depressants.

I don't really have high libidio as it is, due to the depression. But I really have no concept of how much flux will actually effect me in this department - will it destroy all desire? Like will i not be able to have sex at all? 

My main priority is just becoming myself again, and i really need to accept the side effects because ive pretty much ran out of options, but im definately worried about this stuff. 

I know it effects everyone differently, and i know its a bit of a private issue, but any of your experiances will be really helpful smile.

Thanks!

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

I had no idea about this particular side effect when I first started on flux about 8weeks ago now, but to be honest, it didnt really make that much of a difference in terms of desire. Infact quite the opposite - my libido certainly wasnt affected, but there was a massive difference in the time it takes to reach a conclussion! When I looked into this in more detail, I noticed that this drug is also prescribed for premature ejaculation issues. So the result, (depending on how you want to look at it), was actually quite positive!
    • Posted

That's really reassuring to here - I think I've already noticed a similar thing. It's just if it gets any worse...

But as long as I can actually perform on some level (which it sounds like you can) I'll be alright.

Thanks, man

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!