Lactic acid 'rushes' in muscles

Posted , 11 users are following.

I suffer from what feels like floods of lactic acid in my legs, arms, and now my pelvis whenever I walk more than a few steps and immediately I start trying to walk up any kind of incline or hill. Does anyone else have experience of this? My doctor, generally good, just scratches his head and says he doesn't know why I'm getting it,or how to help with it. I am very disabled by it, and I have to stop every few steps as it makes me feel very sore and nauseous. Any tips for this? Much appreciated.

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Elliebee,

You are the first person I have heard discuss this lactic acid rush though I am sure lots of people get it.  I get it all the time - though it worsens as my overall illness worsens.  I have no confirmed knowledge on this though my guess is that it is to do with malfunction in our cells at the mitochondrial level.  The mitochondria are our cell powerhouses which provide the energy we need for our bodies to work properly.  In CFS/ME our energy supply malfunctions/is depleted so when we exercise our muscles walking or climbing stairs, unlike healthy people, it takes very little to deplete the mitochondria and produce lactic acid. Basically we climb a few stairs and reach "the burn" very quickly. I don't know if this is actually correct but it makes complete sense to me.  The only thing I can suggest is to try and improve the energy output - what little energy we actually have -  and one way to do this is using Co-enzyme Q10 (CoQ10).  This is supposed to help at the mitochondrial level to release the energy we have.  There are some poor souls who are born with the rare mitochondrial disease where the mitochondria die off and organs gradually malfunction.  For us, I think the problem is the release of energy at the mitochondrial level and the ability to replenish our energy supply at that level too.  It is a fascinating subject but that doesn't help wi