Lichen sclerosus and pregnancy

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hello to everyone smile this is my first time posting about this! 

Im 23 with a nearly 2 year old son. I was diagnosed with LS 5 years ago because I could no longer have sex and was waking up every night in pain and feeling so itchy. I was prescribed Dermovate steroid cream which helped a lot and helped me to get back on track with my usual life. 

However when I found out I was pregnant I was worried what effect having a my son naturally would have on my body. My gp at the hospital had no idea and basically fobbed me off like I was making it up. So I trawled the internet finding info about people my age (21 at the time) with LS and going through a pregnancy whether it be problem free or worse than before. 

I couldn't find anything at all! I was refused a planned C section so had to face the facts that I would have to have my son naturally and face whatever problems may come. My biggest fears were either my son getting stuck or not healing right or over healing. 

I made the decision to have a water birth in the birthing pool at the hospital. I'd read that this could help soften the skin and help with elasticity. On arrival at the hospital the No-Nothing GP suddenly decided she knew everything about LS (she repeated everything I'd already told her) and said I could labour in the pool but would have to come out just before my son was born to be monitored. Great. 

I have to say that labouring in the pool was the best choice I could have made, no "tightness" complications, easy to get comfy, free to move as I wanted. 

After the birth I had to have stitches. The most painful part! 

Despite all all this I am still "ok", I've had no flare ups or problems in the past 2 years since having my son.