Lightheaded and dizziness won't stop. Doctors don't know what's wrong. Looking for some hope!

Posted , 7 users are following.

I'm new to this sort of thing, but I'm getting really scared and don't know where to turn. Quick history: I'm a 28 yr old female, very active, graduate student, no major health problems. 11 year history of recurring dizziness that typically lasts about 4-6 months before slowly disappearing. Seems to get me every couple years or so, never been able to identify a trigger.

Last week I was sitting on my couch when suddenly my ear started ringing. This lasted a couple of hours and then all was fine. Next day I was getting ready for bed and suddenly became dizzy. It has not stopped since. Constant lightheaded feeling, sometimes it's almost like tunnel vision, or feeling like I'm drunk, and sometimes like my eyes can't "keep up" with my motion. It's rarely a true spinning sensation unless I bend over and stand up very quickly.

There is always a pressure in my right sinus areas, but no ear pain or mucus. Hearing is normal. I have been tested for every possible condition over the years and no one has ever figured it out.

I am so scared that each time this happens, I will be stuck like this forever. It's the worst feeling in the world. What if my brain just stops compensating? Anyone out there have any success stories? I've given up on anyone ever figuring out what it is. I think it is residual damage from a ruptured eardrum that I had as a child, and that in stressful times my brain decompensates, but that's just my own guess. I want my life back and I'd love to hear some succes stories where people recovered from this nightmare.

0 likes, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

I completely feel where you are coming from.

It is a awful feeling to wake up

Each day feeling this way. The anxiety from this is overwhelming. I am

Trying to figure Out what triggered this if anything.

I hope you find answers.

• Posted