Looking for advice and guidence with my 12 year old son

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hello! I'm new here and I've looked for the right place to post my situation but I'm not sure if I'm even in the right place. I have 2 wonderful children and I'm a single mom trying to raise them with values and respect. i feel like I'm losing control with my 12 year old son. There's so many things left unresolved because I don't know what to do and because there's no punishment the same problems keep repeating and his attitude is out of control. His father isn't the best role model or example for him to look up to so I'm battling things I don't know how to handle. I don't want to go into details until I know which forum I should seek help and advice from. I hope I can help someone else to! This is affecting my entire family and I don't like whats happening. please help! Thank you so much

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

LovebugX2 - I'm a cognitive behavioural therapist and I can see several things going on here.  

Do you have a Family Therapy facility near you?  This would help.  

• Posted

Hi Louise, yes I have a family therapy office near me. I tried that and after 4 months of once a week visits I realized it wasn't helping. We were getting nowhere and the counselor wasn't focusing on things that mattered. When we involved my daughter, the 3rd visit, she made her cry and very uncomfortable. 
    • Posted

Is there a cognitive behavioural therapist near you?

And Prof Tanya Bryson has a new book out now - based on CBT principles, it's very good.

• Posted

its diffitcult to help with so little info hun 

if its just behavouir and not medical ie ,Aspergers .addh, then

you have to take control of the situation 

i brought 3 up on my own 

and 12/13 are diffitcult ages dont  forget they are going thru hormone changes 

your son is change from a child in to a young man theres alot going on in the body and the brain .

give him some responsability.