Looking for advice..pls

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have recently been diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis. A short background I have had stiffness and joint problems swelling in feet hands and nice my quality of living is suffering when it comes to playing with my kids physical activities. My rheumatologist prescribed methotre I am currently on a list for otezla I have been researching these medications and I am extremely nervous I'm not sure that this disease affects my quality of life enough to be taking these medications the side effects seem overwhelming I have currently had them in my possession for over a week. Should i take them or is their an alternative.

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi, I can imagine you are scared however I'm sure taken this medication early will prevent long term damage of this condition, I'm not an expert in this field so I'm sure someone will message you soon with better advice, hope you get good results if you do decide to go ahead 😊

• Posted

Hi Eric,

I'm pretty much in the same situation as you but not yet been to rhumy yet. I'm currently on a list of pain meds as long as my arm but still struggling with the pain. I've spent over 2 years on these pain meds and currently taking 24 pills a day. I like yourself am very dubious and scared about what new pills meds will be prescribed as I also have a young family of 3 all under 6 to keep happy and have lots of physical fun family time.

From most of what I gather on here the pain meds make the quality of life much better with some people being on them over 20 years and feel just like normal with no pain.

I'm personally looking forward to getting my life back after 2 years of sheer hell and constant agony I hope you make the right decision and enjoy your time with your children

• Posted