Lyrica Pregabalin 75mg Twice a Day Feel So Bad

Posted , 11 users are following.

Hi There, 

I am a newbie here but I am hoping someone can give me some advice.  I have suffered major general anxiety disorder for the past 5 years.  I have had to leave 2 jobs because of it.  I have tried multiple SSRI without much success, I am currently on Sertraline 200mg a day.   Anyway after going through all the NHS hoops I have finally got a really good psychiatrist who has been wonderful.  So far we have tried Quetiapine (which I didn't like) Promethazine (which done nothing at all).  I have now been prescribed Lyrica 75mg to take twice a day, which I asked to try after reading glowing reviews on drugs.com and how it helps with anxiety.  It sounded like the holy grail of anxiety treatment.   I have only managed to take 3 doses of this medicaiton as the side effects have hit me from the first capsule.  I felt totally dizzy and lightheaded.  Couldn't walk straight, the room was spinning.   Feel sick and really not right.  I haven't taken any dose today as I really couldn't take these side effects.  I ended up going back to my GP today and he said maybe the dosage is too high for me.  So he has now prescribed me 25mg twice a day.  I am really not sure if Lyrica is the right medicaiton for me and I am scared to start the new dosage as the initial side effects were so bad. Has anybody else who suffers from GAD tried this drug and has it improved their condition?

Many thanks for reading. 

Mark  

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Mark

soory to hear of your suffering with GAD it is a horrible experience. Iwas prescribed Pregabalin by a senior psychiatrist and it worked wonders in relieving my anxiety completely. I experienced dizziness at first but it soon disappeared and now I have no side effects having been on 75mg x2 daily for 6 months. I really hope it works equally well for you. Good luck.

geoff

• Posted

Hi Geoff,