Massive alcohol withdrawals but didnt happen last time?

Posted , 7 users are following.

A year ago I quit because I was taken to jail...I had been drinking daily for 2 years.  When I was in jail I had no withdrawals except some cold sweats.  But 5 weeks ago I was released and resumed my drinking...it seemed my tolerance never changed since last time...I quit the other day and on the same night, I started experiencing massive alcohol withdrawals(I think).  I have everything on the list right now...but the one thats getting to me the most is the suicidal thoughts(i actually tried!)  Ive never had those thoughts ever, even though I have anxiety and depression sometimes...im wondering if im getting withdrawals this time because of the so-called "kindling" effect? meaning once you quit and start and then quit, the withdrawals are worse...im really afraid of these sudden feelings of hopelessness and suicide...does anyone think this is delirium tremens? (the most advanced stage of withdrawal)

1 like, 22 replies

22 Replies

Next
  • Posted

After more research, it seems the relapse and then quitting again is what causes such a high excitability of my central nervous system- Rekindling.  And I think Im in the stages of post-acute-withdrawal.  This would explain why is hyper-inflated my existing anxiety and depression...but still, what scares me is the fact that I tried to hang myself...Ive never even once had a thought of that!!!  I hope this is what im going through...my only reason for doubting my research is the fact that I drank daily for 2 years...quit with no symptoms but cold sweats for 3 nights....then a year later i start drinking for 5 weeks...and when I quit, I hit this stage immediatly and only a few hours after quitting...any thoughts please?
  • Posted

Alcohol could interact with ANY medication you take...if you take any.

Alcoholism is progressive....always gets worse never better.