Methotrexate

Posted , 8 users are following.

I was diagnosed with psoratic arthritis and rheumatoid arthritis. I have damage in one toe and in my neck and spine. I have been taking methotraxte for almost 2 months now. I did read alittle on that medication but I had to stop reading on it or I would not have started taking it. The pain has subsided for now. I have more energy. Can anyone tell me about their experience with methotraxte?

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

• Posted

Five months ago I started on methotrexate tabletsAs dose increased side effects got worseAt25mg/week had to stopNow on 25mg /week by injection with after 6weeks (touch wood )no side effects
  • Posted

Hi, sorry to hear you are worried about taking mthx, i have been injecting for nearly 2 years now 20mg a time, i also take Folic acid every day except injection day (to prevent side effects), i did experience a lot of mouth ulcers at the beging ing but haven't had one for a long time....... I also inject monthly a biologic drug to top up the mthx.. and i feel great i get the odd flare up but not very often, i have been well althrough this awful wet weather and i live on a farm and have horses so am outside most of the day.

I have PsA and oesteo and before i took these drugs i was a very swollen bumbling crying wreck, there is NO way i would stop taking them......I hope this helps feel free to ask any questions. x

• Posted

Yes that does help alot. Thank you. I also take folic acid. It's encouraging to know that life can get back to being some what normal.
  • Posted

Hi Wendy