Milk thistle and Gilberts Syndrome

Posted , 9 users are following.

Just be diagnosed with Gilberts Syndrome (at 31) - glad to finally have a reason for fatigue and a possible link with other random symptoms (Was amazed to find the list of symptoms that have been associated with this condition that I experience frequently).

Have started to take Milk Thistle - have to say I dont feel as tired during the day (dont worry, I am a scientist, I know this may be a placebo effect) and I have lost the white coat I have had on my tongue for the last 10 years!

My question relates to the fact that since I have started taking the milk thistle, the whites of my eyes seem to have become yellow - has anyone else experienced the same? I would have thought if the milk thistle is helping the liver work properly, this should help reduce bilirubin levels, not increase them!

2 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Dear Hannah,

Are you sure that the yellowing of your eyes never actually started before the ingestion of the milk thistle and you just didn't notice it? It took me a long time to discover that my eyes were yellow ( a so called school pal informed me nearly 30 years ago!) when I was diagnosed with Gilberts 'disease' as it was then known. I was also led to believe that milk thistle was supposed to decrease billirum levels thus leading to clearer eyes and skin. If what you say is correct , then I won't go down that avenue!! Hope your eyes look better now, Antz

• Posted

I too, a Gilbert's patient, have my eyes getting worse after starting milk thistle. Weird... Obviously it boosts detoxification phase 1 and increases bile flow uping billirubin levels for us. We need to boost our 2 detixification phase. That is our problem. Thinking of discontinuing it.
  • Posted