My 6 year old boy had EE showed sharp wave!! please advice.

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi all,

This is my first time in here im very desperate to get some information’s from parent who may similar situation.

My child had his first febrile convulsion at age 1 year and 2 month he had high temperature we were shocked to see our child is havin fit. dr said is called febrile convolution dont worry will go away when his 5.

Then after 1 year and 3 month he had 3 convolutions one after the other in 1 hour he was very warm like heater.

and then at the age of 5 still he has 2 convulsion when he had convulsions we checked his temperature it was 36.7

about 2 month ago he has 2 convolution first one at home second one in hospital.

and then about 10 days ago he had fit while talking to his mother and his mother said he didnt have any temperature. we have noticed every time he get convulsion his either has soar throat, cough, flue, tonsils problem.

My son his now 6 years and 2 weeks.

He had 30 minute EEG done set on chair is showed Sharpe electric wave.

He were told to close his eye sharp wave recorded and then during breathing sharp wave increase

Before eeg process dr said if child get convulsion because fo fever this should show normal result.

Treatment prescribed to take antiepileptic carbamazepine 200mg tablets for 2 years dr said after 2 years he wont get any convulsion.

Do you this this medicine is the right one for him to take for 2 years. His been told to take 1 every day for 2 years but in first 8 days half of the tablet.

After all the above my son his cleaver boy in his class and very respectful to people around him in school. Very cleaver he never forget think and easy to learn.

Any advice will be appreciated in advance.

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi Iani

My Sisters 3 boys all had convulsions and all 3 have grown out of them. 

They are now Men !!