My Mum is in denial.......

Posted , 4 users are following.

and refuses to go to her doctor to get checked out, she appears to have some form of dementia, although I am no doctor.......she has very bad mood swings and has been threatening violence towards my stepdad, who I have to say is just trying to keep the peace rather than actually trying to get her help......she is very unstable on her feet and has now fallen over on at least 3 occasions, the first my stepdad was at home and she insists he pushed her over, which i dont believe for a second.....and then she fell over twice again in the same place and he wasnt in the house.....I have spoken to her doctor but he says that unless she consents he cannot do anything, even talk to her......any advice would be helpful as this is causing so many problems for all concerned, I just want my mum back

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Yes, I went through this also. My mother is now in a dementia care home now. I did get my mom to go to the doctor. Now the court has deemed her incompetent so she needs a guardian of the person to take over-- which is my aunt right now. I would consider getting a lawyer. It is quite helpful.
  • Posted

Hi Tracey, I just logged into my email and saw this. You can't get a diagnosis on-line, as I'm sure you realise. However, it's not really going to be possible for anyone to even suggest pointers with the very limited information in your post.

You don't say how old your mother is, how long this has been going on, whether she's gone through similar episodes in the past, how suddenly it started, whether she's a heavy drinker and whether she has any other symptoms of dementia, like poor memory, loss of interest in personal hygiene, not being able to cope with tasks she was able to do in the past etc.