My Mum Suffers from Back Pain - Sometimes Cant Work

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi,

My mum is a nurse and has worked in the same job for well over 20 years, shes 54 and over the last 5 years is having a lot of trouble with her lower back.  I am looking online for any sort of benefit that she can recieve on the days she cannot work.

She can be fine for months then all of a sudden her back will "go" and she will be in extreme pain for days or even weeks. She will have to call into work sick and has difficulity sleeping. The Doctor will perscribe her strong pain killers and she goes to the chripractor when she can (its expensive)

Any advice on who we can speak to for more information?

I have no experience in this area and neither does she.

Thanks for reading

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

You can try pip
    • Posted

The trouble with PIP is that you have to qualify under the descriptors for the majority of the time - ie  3 or more days of the week.

?The poster clearly says that that isn't the case.

• Posted

As PIP is payable if you are in work or not.

​The claimant would have to start building up a history with the GP. Making sure that this condition is said to flucturate but for over 50% of the time she/he suffers with the symptoms that are matched by the PIP descriptors.

As many say there is being honest and too honest!!

• Posted

Hi Stephen

The way the system works is if you are in work and become ill then you are either paid occupational sick pay @ the rate and time period declared in your contract of employment or you claim Statutory Sick Pay (SSP).

Sometimes your National Insurance Contributions become exhausted due to repeated time ‘on the sick’ which means you then have to claim Employment and Support Allowance (ESA) @ a rate of £73.10pw for over 25’s instead. To do this you need a sick note from your GP but there are 7 waiting days until your claims starts in other words no benefit for the first week.