My story - what to expect from Fluoxetine.

Posted , 7 users are following.

My experience so far (it's a long read!)...

In January I was a competent Compliance Manager, attended the gym daily, had a perfect relationship, a great social life and a meticulously clean house.

By March I was crying in the store cupboard, making excuses to call in sick, ignoring all my friends, arguing with my boyfriend and barely had the energy to brush my teeth - let alone exercise or do housework. I rarely ate or slept and I had the attention span of a goldfish. I was a wreck. All for no apparent reason.

My boyfriend forced me to see a Doctor, who signed me off sick with depression and prescribed 20mg of Fluoxetine daily.

Week 1-2: All I did was sleep and cry. I became terrified of everything and was convinced either me or someone I loved was about to die. I couldn't eat and my teeth were grinding horribly. I stopped showering a refused to brush my hair. These weeks felt like months.

Week 2-6: I started to take it before bed instead of in the morning and slowly regained the ability to stay awake bit by bit, but spent all day on the sofa and was too anxious to speak to anyone except my boyfriend, who I suddenly couldn't stand the sight of anyway. Time slowed to a standstill - I didn't think I'd ever get better. I ground my teeth totally flat.

Week 6-9: My mood began to stabilize, I started speaking regularly to someone on this forum who was very supportive and I stopped feeling so angry/upset all the time. I remembered why hygiene is important! I remained too anxious to speak to anyone else though and still slept every few hours. I felt like I'd been on Fluoxetine for YEARS.