Needing to quit demanding jobs?

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am 27 years old and have been having pain since 7 years ago and my doctor diagnosed me with endometriosis recently. The pain has been getting worst and really bothers me for at least 2 weeks of the month. I wake up multiple times in the middle of the night because of the pain during these weeks. I am also in my second year of medical school and hoping to be a physician one day, but the goal seems so difficult to achieve with the pain. I feel so tired and anxious all the time and I'm not sure how I can get through residency/work hours (~80 hrs per week). Will this only get worst? I don't want to go through med school with large amounts of debt only to not be able to work in the future. I also want children with my husband and am afraid if I postpone this to after med school, the chances of conceiving will be lower. Should I quit right now when it is not too late and go back to my old, flexible job? If you have a demanding job, can you share how you can manage both at the same time? Thanks!

0 likes, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted

Hi NTS:

I hope that you are able to become a doctor as you'll have so much understanding of what terrible pain does to us. As to your question, all I can say is that endo and law school didn't mix well. Law school is so much easier than med school & residency that it's hard to compare, but you should know that I had to take 2 leaves of absence because of the endo. I don't know if you can do that in med school.

• Posted

Thanks for you reply, aitarg. I really do hope I can continue. Did you have to take the leaves of absence because of surgeries or trying to get your pain under control? I have classmates who have taken a leave of absence for a year, which I might have to do. I don't think we can take 2 leaves. Did you find that the stress from law school related to an increase in symptoms? I feel like the pain has gotten so much worst since starting school. 

• Posted