Nervous for doctor appointment

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi everyone. I have posted in this group a couple of times. I had a spinal fusion for grade 3 spondylilothesis (L5-S1)10 years ago L4-S1, my lower 2 screws are now broke and I have grade 2 spondylilothesis at L5/S1 and grade 1 at L4/L5. I don't know how this happened! I'm in a lot of pain and experiencing numbness/ tingliness in my legs and random burning on top of my feet. I am wondering others thoughts or experiences with anything similar? How does spondylilothesis return? I am very active and was a pretty avid runner before the pain started. I am young and recently moved 8 hours away from my family, my partner is going with me to my consult with the neurosurgeon. Does anyone have any good questions I should ask? (I am Still learning to navigate adult life smile ) thanks!!

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I am sure someone else will be more helpful, I have not had my surgery yet, but wanted to say so sorry you are going through this, and I hope you get answers soon.
  • Posted

Ask about wallis ligament surgery google it
    • Posted

I would like to know how common is it for this to happen with fussion surgery, iv heard a few people say they've had problems with broken screws, I had my surgery 14 years ago and to be honest this scares the life out of me

• Posted

To get 14 yrs out of yr op is brill b4 any major problem s. There is always a chance that some one who's had fusion will need further surgery. Most people I read about only get 5 to ten yrs success from a fusion.

• Posted

Now that's scary and something else that wasn't mentioned, I was told once it was fused it was for life and then the past few years have heard of a few stories but I also heard there was a problem with a batch of hardware that was used at a particular time which was about 4 years after my surgery

• Posted