OK to stand in shower at 6 Weeks Post Op?

Posted , 5 users are following.

hi there! I have until now washed in the bath with my feet hanging out and have only now been ready to get my feet wet.

However, wondering about the WEIGHT BEARING aspect of standing barefooted in the shower. Is it ok to stand flat footed in the shower? or should I be wearing a supportive flip flop? (I've seen a Scholl one for wearing at the beach).

ps: I don't intend to do this (ie wear a flip flop in the shower) in the long term, just in this recovery period when I've not got the all clear from the surgeon that my bones have fully fused

pss: also asking this on the forum as my surgeon's office has not been helpful at all in my post op care

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi, obviously I'm no doctor and the best person to speak to is him, but if he's not been great at communicating then this is what I was told. Bones are well on their way to being healed by 6 wks and I'm sure if you are careful and your wounds have healed there should not be any problem.

I did the foot out bath thing (only one thank goodness) for the whole 6 weeks not because of the bones so much as my wounds all got infected. I was dying to shower properly!!!

If you are worried then wait but you seem confident and know your body. Not sure if I've helped ! X

• Posted

Ajandtia

my feet were in the bath with me as soon as possible, about 17 days, and, of course, you have to put some weight on your heels to be able to get out.

at 5 weeks I was slowly walking barefoot to the bathroom as I was really fed up of wearing those horrible shoes.

at six weeks your bones should be fused, but only an X-ray will confirm. I would be more worried about slipping in the shower, and the flip flop thong between your toes.

get a seat for the shower, then you can spend as long as you like in there. I didn't have a shower for ages, as I had both done at once, ( I prefer baths anyway) and I was a bit of a coward..