Open incisional hernis - recovery time

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi,

I am having open surgery for an incisional hernia which is on an old scar from my gall bladder removal. The surgeon is not using mesh to repair it.  I was wondering what sort of recovery time I might anticipate. Any thoughts or advise would be appreciated. Thanks 

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

hi josielow

Sorry but I have no knowledge of this only Hiatus Hernia which is a different part of the body.

Sorry I could not be of help.

kind regards

Jazztrain

• Posted

I am 6 days on from similar surgery - open inguinal without mesh. I felt wonderful immediately after, and have been walking around, up and down stairs etc from the beginning. No problem driving now. But tired also and need lots of rest. Sore and swollen, but not terribly painful. Beware of constipation after, caused by the anaesthetic and associated medication. I had lactulose in the house ready, recommended by Sainsbury pharmacist. Its early days yet, and there is so much conflicting advice. Can't advise, just report so far.
  • Posted

Hi I am waiting for a third operation to try mend my incisional hernia that is getting larger and larger with each operation an each week as time goes by. 

My previous operations were in July 2013 and OCtober 2014.