Orthodontics needed,I'm so depressed :(

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, I'm new here and really desperate and that is why I have joined, I just don't know where to turn anymore sad

I'm 30years old and I have an overbite, I've also just been diagnosed with TMJ which is really bad some days more than others.

I'm pretty sure the misalignment of my teeth is causing it to be worse.

I've been to a dentist who has quoted me £4000 for a brace, thing is I can't afford it. I've tried for loans and everything, I just don't know what to do. The pain and everything is getting me down. I also work in retail which means I have to smile a lot, but I'm too self concious to open my mouth. 

I also only work part time, as where I live it's hard to find work.

Do any colleges or anything ever let trainees practice on you for free or anything? 

Thank you. 

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi Shabbychic, Is it because you grind your teeth that you have TMJ? I clench and that can cause horrible pain in the jaw. I have been wearing a mouth guard for about 3 years and it works great for me.
    • Posted

Hi sinusprob, thank you for replying.

I clench too. I've had a night guard but for me it made it worse, it was good at first but then it made me more likely to clench because of it being a foreign object in my mouth.

I saw a maxiofacial consultant at the hospital and she was really good, but could only suggest antidepressants that stop pain.

I've only had this problem since my teeth moved a couple of years ago, I know that if my teeth were fixed it would take off so much pressure in my mouth. Finding £4000 is only possible by winning the lottery I thibk rolleyes

• Posted

Hi,

was was the appliance you got quoted for an ALF appliance?

they truly help with TMJ

but there are other cheaper things you could try:

MYO munchie

pit cost 80 Australian dollars I think 

you'd need to ask them which one you'll need