Osteoporosis

Posted , 6 users are following.

I have just got my results from my DEXA scan.

TScore

AP spine -3.1

Femoral Neck -3.5

Hip -3.1

plus

Zscore

Spine -0.9

Femoral Neck -1.6

Hip -1.5

The conclusion Osteoporosis.  I don't understand what the Z score is, help anyone?  I'm not really sure what the Tscore is either or how bad the Osteoporosis is or does it matter how bad it is, bad enough I have it.  Have been prescribed AA but not too sure about it. Would like to try a more natural method.  I already take Prednisolone for PMR which has probably been unhelpful as far as the OP is concerned.

0 likes, 20 replies

20 Replies

• Posted

Hi Jean, and welcome. I'm a newbie to the forum myself but have been blown away by the help and support I've received from other members.  I'm still getting my head round it all but what I've picked up so far is .

T scores are the difference between your own bone density and the average woman around 25 at peak bone density.( in other words, how off ideal you are). Whilst the Z score is your result compared to other average women your age.  It's the T score that's used to determine if you have Ostoeoporosis. .

Normal. T score = above -1.0 ( that's is -1.0 through to the plus numbers like +2 which are above average)

Osteopenia. T score = between -1.0 and -2.5 

osteoporosis T score = less than 2.5 

hope this helps 

• Posted

My husband is very lucky. His scores are plus where mine are minus.

Hence he has plus three and four and he is 74.

• Posted

So sorry for your result. My worst is -4.3. 

We can try to improve our bones naturally and of course avoid falling.

• Posted