Out of work.

Posted , 12 users are following.

Hi,

I've given up my job due to my alcoholism. I'm a state registered health professional and simply cannot risk making a mistake at work or losing my registration.

I wanted to know if I would be able to claim any benefits since I voluntarily left my job while I clean up my act. Never been on benefits before and don't know where to begin. My Gp is aware of my situation as my liver function is shot to bits and am attending an ARC.

Not sure what forms to fill in and under what classification does alcoholism fall? Mental health? Physical health?

Thanks for any help.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hi Kelly. I think you need to get an appt with CAB they will have the latest info on benefits. Good luck

Kind Regards

JulieAnne

• Posted

I agree JulieAnne Citizens Advice  is definately  the best place for independent benefits advice :biggrin

• Posted

Alcohol addiction itself comes under mental health per se. But obviously the effects can be very physical. Depending on the exact definition of a liver being shot to bits, it can be very dehabilitating, as it is the energy/engine room for our body.

My advice would be to go down your local Citizen's Advice Bureau. You don't need an appointment (check the opening hours on the web) and they always have someone who is clued up on benefits. I had a friend who is a single parent and he had to go on benefits for a short while.

The CAB said they were glad that he came to them first, because the benefit office would be unhelpful, not offer up any information and generally make it difficult. They typed him up a letter after going through it with him and said to take that. They said once they've seen you've been here and read that letter, they will have to provide you with what you're entitled to.

• Posted

Kelly -

I'm from the other side of the pond so I don't know anything about filling out the paperwork, but thought you might like to know about this: