Pain after THR

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi - this is my first time posting - I have been following with great interest other discussions - it has certainly helped me.  I am 9 weeks post THR and I am 46 years old.  The hip joint feels great and I am walking with no limp. My problem of late is pain at night in my thigh.  It feels like a toothache in my leg. It spreads down to my calf and foot.  Has anyone experienced this?  Many thanks in advance!

1 like, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

OMG....yes! I'm only 2 weeks as of tomorrow and I have the same pain! I was getting it bad when I was doing my straight leg lifts, do I stopped doing those, but mine gets worse in the evening too. Like bone/nerve pain. I'm going in tomorrow and going to find out about it. I will let you know what they say! Hard to sleep with that pain!

Otherwise, glad to hear that there's no limp smile

Tammy

• Posted

​Hi  Jess glad your doing so well,   sorry about the niggling pain in your

​thigh    remember you had major surgery a lot has been cut and put back together muscles tendons nerves all been battered and bruised, it could olso

​be that your pushing yourself to hard and the body is  telling you to slow down,     but be safe not sorry talk to your doc  all the best and take care

• Posted

Thanks so much Alex - I guess it just seemed strange that it's only just started happening.  You are right - what a battering we've taken!  I've just booked a doctor's appointment!

• Posted

No advice or insight sorry, but wishing you well .

This is a serious operation with significant surgery and manipulation - not a journey for wusses 😂😂😋 as we have learned. I think the levels of recovery take quite a while, even just for the swelling to subside ... I think this is part of why we start to experience new aches and pains over time.

But always good to check with a medical professional if concerned.

Wishing you all the best in your recovery.