Panic attacks and wanting to get help

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have for many years suffered on and off with anxiety and panic attacks. They still don't get any easier. I haven't had one for a couple of years until Monday 24 the (its Saturday 30 today)

I've found this particular episode has on and off lasted for days. I've found they come on more likely during the night but can come anytime to be honest. There doesn't seem to be a route cause and I haven't been able to sleep for the past 4 nights now as I feel like its snowballed and I can't cope with it anymore as I feel upset I can't "pull myself together"

I went to GP Thursday and he's given me propranolol and I've through my own doing booked CBT but I keep getting worked up and things are snow balling and I can't help it.

0 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Hi, Christina...I have suffered on and off with panic attacks my entire life, so I have a lot of experience.  I am 67 yrs. old now, so that is a lot of years of suffering.  I have a wonderful doctor, who manages to keep them under control, however, as far as going away for good, I don't think that will happen in my lifetime...I have found that by keeping frozen bottles of water around in your freezer at all times helps...Put the frozen water on the floor...take off shoes and roll your feet around the frozen bottle...Somehow, that throws your brain back into place...Also, a very cold, wet washcloth on your forehead helps, while drinking some warm milk or caffein free tea, or even warm water....If you have a full blown one, just do the best you can until it passes...Just keep saying to yourself, this is not dangerous, and it will be ok in just a few minutes....Hope this helps, sweetie....
  • Posted