Partners point of view

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi I'm new to this my husband has been given citalopram 20mg for GAD he's been on them 17 days we have 2 young children and I work full time I've taken some holiday time to help as he's a stay at home dad but how do I know when to take a step back I don't want him to feel worse as he already worries that he puts to much on me I know that that is part of the gad and the meds but I don't want to take to much control

0 likes, 12 replies

12 Replies

• Posted

Hi how long has your husband, been depressed, the best way to help him is by reading posts from here and see how the others are feeling, citalprom differs from person to person, the tablets usually pick after a month or more, what do u think is causing your husband's depression?, is it his first time or, does he drink alcohol.
    • Posted

Hi Richard thanks for your reply my husband is depressed he has GAD generalised anxiety disorder. It makes him over think the 'normal' everyday worries until it becomes so worrying that he has an anxiety attack 3 weeks ago was his worsed to date to the point were I couldn't control or calm him as he had so much 'bad adrenaline' he couldn't control it so docs have given hum cit the side effects have been horrendous but I'm hopeful that they will take effect and help
    • Posted

Sorry that should say isn't depressed
    • Posted

Hi u have to try to treasure him when he is worrying, once u panicked it will make it worse, my wife was not very helpful to me, that made me panicky more, but citalprom has done wonders for me, keep online feel free to ask anything.
    • Posted

I'm fairly calm when it comes to dealing with it I kinda just take it on the chin so in that respect all is well he's had a better day today not sure the weather changing is helping either
    • Posted