Peptic Ulceration, looking for advice from people in the UK

Posted , 3 users are following.

hello, i had a severe fever for 3 days and i took a lot of ibuprofen and aspirin, which i learned can cause peptic ulcers, this is my first time and i am wondering how common is the medication for non-bacterial peptic ulcer treatment in the local UK pharmacies?

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

all I know is , if you have had an ulcer you shouldn't take ibruprofen or aspirin. I have never hear of it causing an ulcer
  • Posted

Hi

I've had a lifetime of stomach issues including a Duodenal Ulcer. NSAIDs (ibuprofen and aspirin and others) can cause Peptic Ulcers if taken long term. They have an adverse effect on Ulcer sufferers and can cause stomach bleeding. Recent research  has also shown that NSAIDs taken long term can have other serious side issues. But it seems unlikely that dosage over three days would give you a Stomach Ulcer. What makes you feel that you should have Peptic Ulcer treatment ? Are you having stomach pain ? If you feel that you have acidity or Gastritis you can counter that short term with Calcium Carbonate tablets 500mgms. But long term stomach pain requires a visit to the Doctor. But as most Peptic Ulcer sufferers are infected with the bacteria - H Pylori why would you seek non bacterial ulcer treatment ? As I say, if you have continuing stomach pain your doctor can test you for H.Pylori and offer quite effective treatment (3 sorts) to eradicate it. My guess is that, if you have stomach pain as a result of overdosing with ibuprofen and aspirin then they may have set up some inflammation (Gastritis) and antacids should relieve the problem. But if you have any sign of black stools caused by bleeding or if you have continuing stomach pain you must see a Doctor.

• Posted

thank you derek for your reponse,