PF for 10 years..who's had surgery??

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi everyone I am 30 years old and I have had PF for 10 years in both feet. I have tried stretches, ice, insoles, night splint, walking cast, steroid injections and nothing has worked. I would say the intense sharp pain has gone abit but now I am left with a lot of pain in every part of my foot and ankle due to walking in a way which takes the pressure off my heels. I work as a nurse which doesn't help but it's my job! Plus this has only been for the last 5 years. So my question is what next? My podiatrist has said surgery is the last option now. He has suggested a partial plantar fascia release. Is there a surgery where the entire plantar fascia is cut? I have flat feet too which worry a me because surely if you cut part of the arches supporting structure, is that not going to cause more problems? Has anyone got PF and flat feet? Are the success outcomes different in these people? Has anyone had this surgery? Was it a success or fail? My heart says 'you've had this for 10 years and you cry every time you talk about it, surely it's worth a shot' but my head says 'it's too risky and you should just live with it.' Advice please!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Oh goodness Amy, this sounds horrible. I've been dealing with it for almost a year. I found a place called The Good Feet and got fitted for inserts. And while things are remarkably better, if I walk too much in a day, I'm limping around the next day. I'm curious to see what kind of feedback you get.

• Posted

Hi Amy,

I really hope you can avoid the surgery route.  That's tough on so many levels.

When you get a chance google this story titled "EPAT helps heel spur patients avoid the knife" featured this week in the St. Cloud Times (Minnesota).