Pharmacy changed my generic sertraline

Posted , 3 users are following.

I will try to make this short....at the end of August I picked up my new prescription of sertraline and began taking it as usual.  Within 3 days, I felt like I wanted to die.  I have never had anxiety like this.  I continued to take these pills as the pharmacist and doctor explained I would have to wait 4-6 weeks to feel any better.  I thought this was odd given that I have been on sertraline since December and I was only increasing the dose.  Finally, my doctor questioned whether or not the pharmacy had changed the generic they use.  Sure enough, they had changed to a brand I have never used before.  So I was able to find a doctor at an after hours clinic to write me a prescription for the generic I was on previously that I know worked for me.  I have been on the one ACT Sertraline for 4 weeks now.  Just a week ago, I started having the increased anxiety I was expecting after changing back and I am still experiencing it.  Can anyone relate to this? I know there are lots of people out there who have had a difficult time with certain generics, and i'm just wondering how long after being on a med that wasn't working did you start to feel better?  TIA

0 likes, 26 replies

26 Replies

• Posted

Hi Lauren,