Physio, pros cons and evidence

Posted , 12 users are following.

Some people here swear by physio saying it really helps while others have stories saying physio pushed them too far and caused extra pain.

I'm wondering about other's experiences. What was physio like and what was the outcome for you? I'm also very curious about studies that may have been done into the effectiveness of physio following a hip replacement.

2 likes, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Kikeena

That's where I am right now. I had my THR on Sept 9th and have had in home PT since then. They released me to go to outpatient therapy but after reading some stories on here, I might not go. I'm looking forward to hearing responses to your question.

• Posted

In home physio sounds like a great idea! I too have been harmed by over zealous physios so am reluctant to sign up.
  • Posted

Hi Kikeena

Nice to hear from you!

A good question: I'm an ex nurse tutor and keen on evidence based health...and the lack of any clear lines on this are worrying for us patients. Also on the elasticated stockings...which I was told are 20 years out date of being good practice - yet others here have had to wear them!

So...I was not given physio which was a shame...but I came into the hip op very fit and did do the prescient exercises regularly. All was well thankfully.

I too look forward to other responses here. Kate say said she had a tough physio, but she enjoyed the challenge and never felt over stretched. So our personality may be a factor too perhaps.

Enjoy the sunshine

Mic

X

• Posted

I too am very keen on evidence based treatments. Without evidence it's just someone's good, or bad, idea. It seem there's a whole industry built up around this with rehabilitation hospitals, but I'm concerned there isn't a standardised treatment.