Planning for bilateral hip replacement in December 2016

Posted , 9 users are following.

I'm 56 years old. I'm planning to have bilateral hip replacement done in December. I currently have cortisone injections in both hips about every 90 days for arthritis. The injections help but last less and less. I'm nervous about surgery but also excited about feeling better and not needing injections anymore. I'm a NICU nurse and the 12 hour shifts are exhausting. The reason for waiting until December for surgery is to have more sick time built up at work and to have my husband off from work for a while to help. He works in school transportation so Winter break makes it possible to be off a bit. I'm interested in finding out from anyone who has had this surgery anything that would be useful for recovery at home. Any other input regarding your own experience would be appreciated. Thank you

1 like, 29 replies

29 Replies

Next
  • Posted

ill tell you in a couple weeks - Im in Monday for bi lateral

• Posted

I'll say a prayer for you and your surgery to do great. Best wishes. Keep me posted please
  • Posted

Hi Rita, 

Warm welcome to our hippies forum - you have come to the right place for questions - 

There are some bi-lateral post-op hippies here and I am sure they will be able to answer your questions -

and Coffeeman of course who is about to have one coming Monday .... 

Oh boy, being a NICU nurse doing 12 hours shifts is challenging for any body, and you are dealing with bad hips .... I am so sorry - Is there anyway you can taper off - work less hours over time?  

Just make sure that your last cortisone shot won't delay date of surgery okay?

(Look at me telling a nurse redface) -

in the meantime you might want to have a look at:

https://patient.info/forums/discuss/thr-useful-resources-487147, scroll down to A Layman's Guide to find website created by our forum member Graham, aka Rocketman - for valuable tips ....

Big warm hug

renee

• Posted

Thank you Renee