PLC

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi, I'm 37 and diagnosed 4 weeks ago with PLC and for the moment struggling hard sad I'm on tetralysal and steroid creme 2xday. I'm also taking extra vitamins and bromelain to boost my system again. Is there anyone who has other tips and tricks to get rid off these awfull spots. I'm going on holidday in 2 weeks and I will not look pretty in my bikini sad

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Good morning,

I'm sorry to hear about your diagnosis. However, I can tell you that you are not alone. PLC is among the rarer skin conditions, but there are several of us who, for lack of a better term, suffer from this condition. 

I want to first start by saying that I am not a medical professional, and in no way should my advice substitute medical advice. This is all coming from a place of opinion and my own personal experience.

?

To answer your question, if the Tetralysal is not helping, I recommend asking your doctor about Topicort (Desoximeasone Cream USP 0.25%) 

This is the only, and I emphasize ONLY cream that has worked for me. I've tried several other prescription ointments that should have done the trick, but the spots persisted. The Topicort cream helped me to heal very quickly. It is also a steroid cream.  

One of the most important things you can do is be vigilant when it comes to your skin. Try to catch these little spots when they first start. I'm sure your dermatologist already gave you information about lifestyle but a few tips I'd also recommend:

-NO shower “puffs” or sponges or wash clothes or anything that exfoliates the skin. Throw them away, forget they ever existed. I was irritating my skin so badly and didn’t even realize it until my Derm scolded me for using those. She also recommended I switch to dove bar soap. I’m currently using Olay sensitive, but I’m considering switching back to Dove.