Please help

Posted , 7 users are following.

I am 44 years old, I had a total hysterctomy last year due stagw 4 endometriosis.   I was started on HRT, EvaMist, immediately.   I had never had a fracture before, however, in the last 3 months i have had 5 fractures (4 in my hands, 1 in my foot) on 3 separate occasions. I had a DEXA scan this week and the results came back showing osteopenia in the back and hip, but not in the forearm.  I am blown away!  With the exception of some arthritis, I am healthy, 44 years old, never smoked, routine weight bearing exercise, occasional alcohol use, little caffeine. I am a nurse, always on my feet. Very active.  My lab work was unremarkable.  What am I doing wrong?  My doctor recommends fosamax.   Can anyone offer me some insight, suggestions of lifestyle or dietary changes, medictions?  Any response appreciated.  I am hungry for informatioin. I came by this site while searching. Thank you.

1 like, 26 replies

26 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Osteopenia does not warrant taking fosamax for a start.

Osteoporosis is more advanced and some even say that osteopenia does not necessarily lead to osteoporosis.

Check out the thread 'strong Bones' on here as many are trying natural way to improve bone health.

There is good information throughout the threads on this topic as well.

Whether bones can be improved naturally is in question but I believe it is worth a try.

Supplements and exercise are recommended by some people including myself.

I take vitamin D3, vitamin K2, magnesium, zinc and calcium as needed. Foods like avocados, kiwi fruit, skin of cucumber, natural gelatin, prunes, and of course a good diet of fruit and vegetables.

Hope this helps. I am in Australia and am 71 years old with osteoporosis.

• Posted

https://patient.info/forums/discuss/strong-bones-support-group-511551

A couple of us have posted our own ideas here.