Preparations?

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hey,

I've been waitning for my bunion op since November 2014 and I finally have it coming up in august. (This is due to me being 16 and being lost in the system too many times to count)

I want to know if there is anything I should do in advance, and anything I should prepare for?

I'm also curious as to how long you guys spent on crutches or similar devices as I have school 3 weeks later, as well as a whole bunch of stairs to go up and down.

Thanks! smile

P.S: I'm having a soft tissue release, bunionectomy, akin's osteotomy and if needed a first meratarsal osteotomy. HELP!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Put simply, you won't be ready to go back to school in three weeks!  Climbing stairs will take a few more weeks, and you'll have to have special treatment so that the other students don't accidentally tread on your foot.

for preparation, be ready to sit for a long time with your foot raised, so make sure you have all you need in the chair or bed that you'll recover in.  Also you won't want to walk up and down stairs for first three weeks so if their isn't a loo downstairs be prepared to spend time in your bedroom.  If you look up my earlier posts I gave someone a whole list of things to prepare before the op.  Good luck.

• Posted

I think it depends on what kind of bunion surgery you have im 3 weeks post op on my right foot and 1 week post op on my left foot i only used the crutches for the first 4 or 5 days after each op im getting around ok but my right foot still swells up once i have been on it for a few mins best wishes
  • Posted

Hi Jennifer,