Prolapsed disc at L5 - sciatica

Posted , 6 users are following.

Hi , this is my first time here. I've read a few horror stories already and am hoping to make a full recovery... hope im not being too naive!

Im 34 and have been off work the past 5 weeks. I had been having some pain in my left leg for a number of months and had been prescribed some co-codamol by the doctor, which to be honest made no real difference.

I went back to the doc who referred me for physio but from what i gather that wont be available for another two or three months yet (waiting list).

However i paid to see a private physio who was able to tell me i have a prolapsed disc at L5. I have had various therapy treatments so far with no progress. Ive also had some traction and am due for more next week so im hoping that this will do the trick.

Im currentlytaking Co-codamol 30/500mg. The maximum dosage is 8 tablets in any 24 hour period. I seem to only get relief after taking 4 of these, although it does make me feel quite sick for the first half hour.

The worst time seems to be the mornings. When i get out of bed , my back is leaning to the left and i am also leaning forward. It takes a long time to get anywhere near straight, not to mention the pain involved in doing this. (the exercises advised by physio).

The pain eases to a degree after the tablets kick in, and also when walking or standing up straight. It all comes back though if i sit down or try to drive.

I am quite lucky in the fact that my work will pay me full pay for the first six months of beinf off sick. However, i dont want to be off any longer than required.

I'd be grateful if anyone recognises any of these symptoms and could point me in the right direction, as its very frustratinh when you dont seem to be making any progress.

I am considering going private to see a consultant and having an MRI done. Can anyone tell me how much this might cost and if it is indeed worth it ?

Thanks in anticipation

Ali